Club celebrates great season


Top guns: Di Johnson, Lawrence Bennie, Martin Elliott and Paul Batten with Georgina Geikie (second right).

OKEHAMPTON Smallbore Club held their annual dinner and presentation of awards evening.

Guest of honour, Olympic pistol shooter and double Commonwealth bronze medallist Georgina ‘Gorgs’ Geikie, whose home club is Okehampton, presented a wonderful array of cups, trophies and medals to club members.

The evening marked the end of another great season of shooting by the club members who competed in the many different indoor target disciplines from prone rifle to air rifle, air pistol, sports rifle and sports pistol and bench rest.

The club has facilities for the visually impaired and this year, club member Carol Brown won the National Blind and Visually Impaired Championships A Class, after a close contest. Carol won the class against 38 competitors, taking home The Swarovski Optic Salver and overall championship title for the NISC Trophy with a maximum and perfect score of 600 – an incredible achievement.

Paul Batten remains overall club champion having attained the highest aggregate of all Devon Winter League cards, with Di Johnson the lady’s club champion.

The club’s top A Team of Paul Batten, Di Johnson, Lawrence Bennie and Martin Elliott were the North Devon division one runners-up. Scoring 7,014 points after 18 rounds and a tight contest they were just 11 points behind the eventual winners and a comfortable 59 points ahead of the team in third place.

Last season was an excellent one for prone rifle shooter Lawrence Bennie who achieved his first ‘ton’ — a maximum score; air rifle shooter Sharon Bartlett also had an amazing season and shot her first maximum 50 too.

Paul Batten won the Kirkpatrick Cup – a competition where the winning score is the highest aggregate of three cards specified at the start of the season, out of a series of eight.

Laurence Bennie won the Vice President’s Cup, an aggregate competition of 12 cards (two cards per month, ten shots per card) that after sighting in, is to be shot without the use of a spotting scope.

Chris Foster won The Hain Cup, which is an aggregate handicap competition of six cards, shot on an own start handicap basis.

The George Hooper Cup is shot on a Macrae Handicap basis, the winner being Stuart Batley with the highest aggregate over ten cards. Stuart Batley also won the pairs Scawen Shield competition with his partner Stuart Bennie.

The Twining Tankard was awarded to new member Phil Martin, as the most improved member joining the club in the last three years; Phil also won the Founders Cup, a knockout competition with a handicap.

The Skirmish Trophy, a handicap competition based on a combination of both speed and accuracy, went to Amanda Elliott.

Bench rest is a competition for rifle whereby the competitor uses a bench to support the rifle, rather than lying prone. Club champion is Carole Saunders.

Gorgs Geikie is the club champion for 20 yard air pistol, with the highest aggregate of the Devon Winter League. And The Frank Yeo Cup is a 20 yard air pistol competition shot on the Macrae Handicap, which was Vince Floyd won.

The 10m air pistol club champion Rachel Martyn achieved the highest aggregate of the Devon Winter League, and Richard Elliott won the 10m air pistol handicap.

Sharon Bartlett is the club champion having the highest Devon Winter League aggregate for 10m air rifle.

The Lightweight Sport Rifle Club Championship is awarded to Shaun Millership with the highest Devon Winter League aggregate and Chris Gosnay won the Lightweight Sport Rifle Handicap Trophy.

With the annual meeting next month, after which the winter season will start, members are really looking forward to the forthcoming season of competitive indoor shooting. With teaching, improvement, com-petition and enjoyment to be had in all the disciplines, new members are always welcome.

DSC_6902 cr 2 - Copy 2